Category: Irish Taekwon-Do Association

Irish Taekwon-Do Association Irish Cup & National Championships 2016

Irish Taekwon-Do Association Logo [References: 1]

Results (UL Arena, Limerick, 11-12 November 2016)

-57kgThomas Fogarty
-63kgRyan ShelleyLuke McGrath
-70kg BlackbeltAdam ShelleyLuke Woods
-78kgColm Carroll
85kgRoss Smith
-50kgKaty Laffan
-62kgLouise McCaghEllen Ince
-68kgMaeve MageeSarah Barry
Senior Female
1st DegreeMaeve Magee
2nd DegreeSkye Slattery
3rd DegreeNaomi Coonghe
Senior Male
1st DanPhilip O’Gorman
2nd DanTiarnan Moriarty
3rd DanEddie Dillon
4th DanHong Looi
Best Overall
Female JuniorJoanne Potter (2 Gold, 1 Bronze)
Male JuniorLuke Moriarty (2 Gold)
Female SeniorMaeve Magee (2 Gold, 1 Silver)
Male SeniorPhilip O’Gorman
[References: 2]


With some big match-ups on offer the Irish Taekwon-Do Association Irish Cup and National Championships 2016 they proved to be the biggest ever ITA tournament. In the Final of the Under 70 kg Blackbelt Division then World Champion (2016) Adam Shelley won Gold ahead of 2009 World Champion Luke Woods. 2016 World Cup winner Colm Carroll also took Gold in the Under 78kg section. The Female Divisions included members of the Gold & Bronze winning team at the 2016 ITF World Cup, with 2013 World Champion Louise McCagh taking Gold in the Under 62 Kg section. Maeve Magee won best overall Female Senior and Philip O’Gorman best overall Male Senior. The Championships took place in the University of Limerick Arena from 11th to 12th November 2016,



[1] Irish Taekwon-Do Association (2016) ITA+Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 28 April 2021]


[2] Irish Taekwon-Do Association (2016) ITA Irish Cup & National Championships 2016 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 15 January 2018]


Thanks to

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 28 April 2021

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2021

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.